Counterman
Search
1
2
3
4
Articles >> Opinion
Currently viewing 1 to 16 of 50

We're Not Unlike NASCAR
7/9/2014
When I arrived, I was immediately struck with the level of cleanliness and professionalism that permeated the operation. Organization and logical shop flow was very apparent. Each area was designated for a specific task and each area was spotless. And I am not talking shop spotless, I am talking surgical spotless. In fact, I could have been in an operating room. The only difference was team members were in team garb instead of scrubs. more
Your Patience Is Your Own To Control
4/29/2014
"Patience is bitter, but its fruit is sweet." - Aristotle more
We Must Stay Nimble In The Automotive Aftermarket
4/29/2014
E-tailing has long been considered one segment of the market. This year, a new segment of the market is emerging, being called the "marketplace." eBay and Amazon are the prime examples of this segment. more
The Philosophy Of Problem-Solving
4/28/2014
In developing the problem statement, we provide a precise and, most importantly, measurable description of the current state based on factual evidence that is free of opinion. more
When A Shop Closes
2/24/2014
Recently, two shops closed near one of our former stores and we would like to take a look at their stories. The first was in business for 40 years. Not a bad run you might think, but there was no happy ending here. more
The Song Remains The Same
2/24/2014
In this job, I'm asked to travel a fair amount, and I often find myself in different locations around our great nation. more
It's A New Year. Here Are Some Calendar Apps To Track It.
2/24/2014
These days, I keep several calendars, not only to track down my work commitments, but for all events related to family and friends. more
The Benefits Of ASE Certification
12/16/2013
With ASE, we have only to look forward to a brighter and more prosperous future. more
Technology That Makes Us Look Like Magicians
7/9/2014
At a time when the world is embracing the "Internet of Things," with "dumb" appliances getting smart, it's great to see the un-exciting vehicle license plate stepping into the tech limelight. more
Flash: We're Delivering Auto Parts Faster Than Pizza
4/29/2014
Mandy Aguilar remembers the days of zero deliveries to customers. The "you want it, come and get it before I close the door" business mindset was the norm back then; but, it was doomed to cease, he writes. more
Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA) Is Becoming The Auto Care Association
4/28/2014
The term aftermarket has been around this business for a long time. The trouble is, for those outside our industry, it is very confusing. more
Don't Wish For Fewer Problems; Wish For More Skills
4/28/2014
The customer knows that we veterans know the answers or more importantly, where to find the answers. So much of what we do simply cannot be formally taught in a classroom. more
The Mad Rush To Secure Mobile Apps In The Automotive Aftermarket
2/24/2014
A detailed search of Apple's iOS app store for the term "auto parts" now yields more than 250 apps available for download for both iPhones and iPads. more
A Reader Asks, How Do You Manage Phone Calls, In-Store Customers?
2/24/2014
For this month's column, Gerald answers a question from a reader on phone etiquette that was posed at Counterman's Ask The CounterPro feature on the website (http://www.counterman.com/CounterPro). more
Are You Ready For This?
12/16/2013
We are in a highly competitive market that has technology and change coming at us at the speed of light. We're expected to stay ahead of that technology and be the source for the parts and the information. This is a huge undertaking. But, what about the surprise and delight? more
Fan-tastical Tech
12/16/2013
The 2013 World Series has made me realize something I suspected all along: The Internet is about people. What good is a blog without people who read it? more
1
2
3
4














Advertise     Contact Us     Subscribe    
Babcox Media • www.babcox.com
3550 Embassy Parkway, Akron, OH 44333
330-670-1234 • (FAX) 330-670-0874
Babcox Website Counterman: Home