AASA's Paul McCarthy Receives Outstanding Leadership Award

AASA’s Paul McCarthy Receives Outstanding Leadership Award

This year’s award also was presented to Bill Hanvey, president and CEO of the Auto Care Association.

Paul McCarthy, president and COO of the Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA), received the Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association’s 2020 Outstanding Leadership Award in Honor of Jack Creamer.

AASA is the automotive aftermarket division of the Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Association (MEMA). The award, presented during a virtual ceremony on Nov. 16, is perceived as the automotive aftermarket industry’s highest honor. Given annually to professionals who exhibit outstanding leadership in advancing the aftermarket, this year’s award also was presented to Bill Hanvey, president and CEO of Auto Care Association.

McCarthy and Hanvey were recognized for their collective leadership and collaboration on behalf of all aftermarket stakeholders.  

“I am humbled to have been selected to receive the Outstanding Leadership Award and thank AWDA for this incredible honor,” McCarthy said. “This year has been unprecedented in ways new to all of us. I know this award was given to represent something larger than me. This is about us working together for the future of our industry. I am proud and pleased to receive this award with my good friend, Bill Hanvey. Bill and I are representatives of an industry that continues to show resiliency, an innovative spirit, and a commitment to hard work and concern for our customers, employees, and each other. I am honored both by AWDA’s recognition and to be able to serve our industry.”

AASA and Auto Care have a long history of partnership on behalf of the automotive aftermarket, and in 2020, McCarthy and Hanvey demonstrated unmatched collaboration. Together, they worked to lead the aftermarket through the COVID-19 crisis. They started by making sure policymakers and others recognized the automotive aftermarket as an essential industry, and they made the difficult but right decision to put people and safety first and move AAPEX to a virtual platform in 2020.

Additionally, both focused on protecting the future of the aftermarket by securing access to appropriate vehicle data and retaining consumer choice. The recent Right to Repair win in Massachusetts and the upcoming REPAIR bill that will be put before Congress are indicative of their leadership. 

“I am extremely proud of Paul and Bill for their leadership and what they can accomplish through continued cooperation and collaboration,” said MEMA President and CEO Bill Long. “The automotive aftermarket is a significant contributor to the entire vehicle supplier industry, and the work Paul and Bill have done to advance the interests of the aftermarket has been significant and meaningful. In particular, I applaud Paul, who serves as one of the aftermarket industry’s top thought-leaders and strategists, for his ability to provide a path forward for vehicle parts manufacturers. His hard work and dedication show every day, and we congratulate him for this award.” 

The annual Outstanding Leadership Award in Honor of Jack Creamer recognizes an individual, employed in the aftermarket, who over the past several years has made a unique and monumental contribution to the industry and/or AWDA. The accomplishment that warrants this award must go well-above and beyond any routine or day-to-day activity and shall be reflective of a commitment to the industry that few individuals can match.

The award is named in honor of the late Jack Creamer, former president of AWDA. Creamer, who received the award in 2000, began his aftermarket career in 1963 as a salesman for Wheels Inc., an automotive and marine parts distributor. He eventually worked his way to company president. While serving AWDA, Creamer was responsible for the development and execution of an extensive industry education program. In 1995, he was named president of AWDA. Over the course of his storied career, Creamer made significant contributions to the automotive aftermarket. He continues to be regarded as an icon in the industry.

Additional information about the Outstanding Leadership Award can be found via this link.

You May Also Like

Spectra Premium Promotes Josh Gordon To CEO

Previously, Gordon was president and COO of Spectra.

Spectra Premium Mobility Solutions has appointed Josh Gordon as president and CEO, effective immediately, the company announced.

Previously, Gordon was president and COO of Spectra.

Gordon joined Spectra in November 2021 and brings a wealth of experience in the automotive industry, with previous leadership roles at Fram Group and Old World Industries, as well as a rich commercial background in consumer products.

Meet Amanda Balk, 2022 Counter Professional Of The Year

Balk didn’t need to travel far to find a home in the aftermarket.

Ted Hughes Named AWDA Executive Director

Hughes brings more than 20 years of aftermarket experience to the association.

Meet The ‘Guess The Car’ Champ: Don Maloney

The correct answer for the August/September contest is the Honda Clarity.

Tendeco Hires Scott Howat As National Sales Manager

Howat will be responsible for aftermarket sales in North America for Litens Aftermarket.

Other Posts

Northwood to Feature Auto Care’s Bill Hanvey in Speaker Series

Hanvey will be the next C-suite leader featured in Northwood’s “Leadership Insights: A View from the Helm” series.

Bill Hanvey
AutoZone Exec Philip Daniele to Keynote AASA Vision Conference

The conference is scheduled for April 11-12 in Chicago.

2023 ACPN Content Excellence Awards Open

The deadline to submit award entries is Jan. 27, 2023.

AASA Announces Details For 2023 Vision Conference

Vision is a must-attend event for all aftermarket professionals looking to stay on top of the industry trends and issues.