ASE Hosts 50th-Anniversary Celebration

ASE Hosts 50th-Anniversary Celebration

Many past ASE chairmen were in attendance as special guests to celebrate the 50th anniversary of ASE.

The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) recently hosted its board of governors meeting in Herndon, Virginia.

The event had extra-special meaning, as many past ASE chairmen were in attendance as special guests to celebrate the 50th anniversary of ASE.

The following ASE chairmen, dating back to 1988, joined the current ASE board of governors and invited guests for the festivities: 

2021 – Mark Polke

2020 – Bobby Bassett

2019 – Tom Trisdale

2018 – Ted Hayes

2017 – Jeff Walker

2015 – Greg Gaulin

2014 – Glenn Dahl

2013 – Rob Barto

2012 – Mike Phillips

2008-2009 – Joe Torchiana

2005 – Bill Bergen

2004 – Bill Willis

2002-2003 – Dennis Terrill

1998 – Bruce Gerhardt

1997 – Al Duebber

1991 – Mike Coley

1988 – Rick Dube

“It was a great honor to have so many past chairmen celebrate such a major milestone. Each one has made an indelible mark on ASE and we thank them for their continued guidance and support,” said Tim Zilke, ASE president and CEO. “In addition to the festivities, we had a very productive and informative meeting and we greatly appreciate the members of the ASE board of governors for devoting their time and expertise to ensure the continued success of ASE for the next 50 years.”

During the board of governors meeting, the attendees discussed pertinent topics and future plans, including the new ADAS and hybrid/electric vehicle safety ASE tests; the ASE Education Foundation’s Adopt-A-School program; ASE Training Managers Council (ATMC) activities; as well as recently conducted research findings and communications activities conducted to build awareness, inform stakeholders and further the ASE mission. The meeting ended with a special reception and dinner commemorating the historic 50 years of ASE.

Photo caption:

Front row, left to right: Bobby Bassett, 2020 ASE chair; Rick Dube, 1988 ASE chair; Tom Trisdale, 2019 ASE chair; Greg Gaulin, 2015 ASE chair; Mike Phillips, 2012 ASE chair; Dennis Terrill, 2002-2003 ASE chair; and Bill Willis, 2004 ASE chair

Second row, left to right: Al Duebber, 1997 ASE chair;  Mark Polke, 2021 ASE chair; Joe Torchiana, 2008-2009 ASE chair; Bill Bergen, 2005 ASE chair; Ted Hayes, 2018 ASE chair; and Rob Barto, 2013 ASE chair

Back row, left to right: Glenn Dahl, 2014 ASE chair; Bruce Gerhardt, 1998 ASE chair; Mike Coley, 1991 ASE chair; and Jeff Walker, 2017 ASE chair

You May Also Like

Arnold Motor Supply’s Eric Johnson Visits Northwood U

Northwood’s aftermarket management program has a nearly 100% employment rate for graduates.

Eric Johnson Northwood

Eric Johnson, president and managing partner of Arnold Motor Supply/The Merrill Company, is visiting Northwood University this week to meet with students enrolled in automotive aftermarket courses. 

“Efforts to encourage and educate students are so valuable because not only are we helping individuals, we’re also helping to shape the future of our industry,” Johnson said. “Preparing students with the mindset, skills and knowledge they need to be successful contributes to the overall growth and innovation of the aftermarket.” 

University of the Aftermarket Announces Courses Slated for 2024

Northwood faculty, aftermarket executives and thought leaders deliver the coursework.

University of the Aftermarket
ACPN Announces 2024 Scholarship Winner

Omer Zanoor of Canadian Tire Corp. is the 2024 ACPN Scholarship winner.

Young Automotive Network Group Launches Annual Sponsorship Program

The program has been updated to a year-round opportunity.

Young Auto Care Network Group
WAI, UAF Announce Bill Ernst Memorial Scholarship

One $2,500 annual scholarship will go to a deserving student pursuing a career in the automotive aftermarket.

Other Posts

2024 to be a ‘Year Of Action’ for ASE, Says Chairman

New ASE Chairman Tom Trisdale says the challenges of repairing vehicles and the pressures facing technicians have never been greater.

ASE Education Foundation Names New Officers, Board

The new chair of the ASE Education Foundation is Joelle Pollak, co-founder of Promotive.

ASE Foundation Board
ASE Announces 2023 Award Winners

The award winners come from all segments of the automobile, collision, truck, school bus, parts, educator and training sectors.

2023 ASE Award Winners
Outgoing ASE President/CEO Tom Zilke Thanks Industry for Support

Zilke and Dave Johnson, his successor, penned open letters to the industry.