AWDA Announces 2020 Industry Award Winners

AWDA Announces 2020 Industry Award Winners

The winners were recognized at the 2020 AWDA Virtual Experience event.

The Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), a community of the Auto Care Association, announced the recipients of its annual AWDA Industry Awards.

The winners were recognized at the 2020 AWDA Virtual Experience event.

The annual AWDA Industry awards honor individuals and companies who have shown an exceptional ability to educate, innovate, manage and lead. Over the years, the list of AWDA award recipients has evolved into a who’s-who of aftermarket luminaries.

The award winners for this year are:

Outstanding Leadership Award

Bill Hanvey, president and CEO, Auto Care Association

Paul McCarthy, president and COO, Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA)

The AWDA Outstanding Leadership Award is given to an aftermarket professional who has contributed to the industry in a unique and significant way. The award is named in honor of former AWDA President Jack Creamer. This is the first time in 26 years that two individuals have been jointly honored with AWDA’s highest award.

“The past year has witnessed unprecedented challenges for the motor vehicle aftermarket and its two major trade associations,” said Larry Northup, executive director, AWDA. “Hanvey and McCarthy were forced to deal with multiple threats to the viability of their industry and respective associations. The impacts of the successful battle for the Right to Repair in Massachusetts, the devastation of COVID-19, the cancellation AAPEX and conversion of most other events to untested virtual formats were far-reaching and unprecedented.

“This a great year to recognize the leadership provided by our associations in tackling industry challenges together and working together for the benefit of all,” said Larry Pavey, CEO, Automotive Parts and Services Group and 2016 winner.

Pursuit of Excellence Award

The Merrill Company/Arnold Motor Supply

Established in 1983, the Pursuit of Excellence Award is presented exclusively to AWDA member organizations or their employees for special achievement in areas of business management, marketing advocacy or service.

The Merrill Company and its parent, Arnold Motor Supply, got its start in Spencer, Iowa in 1927. Since then, the company has grown to include 700 associates, serving 118 company and independent auto parts stores and more than 518 dedicated Certified Service Centers across five states. The Merrill Company and Arnold Motor Supply currently operate four distribution centers; 20 machine shops, three stand-alone paint, body and equipment locations; and one auto refinish solutions and industrial paint solutions warehouse.

Excellence in Education Award, in Honor of Art Fisher

Bobby Bassett, retired, national training manager, North America, Gates Corp.

AWDA’s Excellence in Education Award is presented to an aftermarket company or individual that demonstrates outstanding commitment to education and training, either within their organization or throughout the industry. Given in memory of former AWDA Chairman Art Fisher, the award grants scholarships in the name of the award winner to two students enrolled in the automotive aftermarket management program at Northwood University.

Bobby Bassett began his career in the automotive aftermarket in 1978 and for 22 years oversaw customer training in both the automotive and heavy-duty markets. In his capacity as national training manager, Bassett was the administrator of Gates’ “Tools for Schools” and Performance Center eLearning platforms. Bassett was a skilled and relentless educator and a familiar figure to countless aftermarket professionals, including technicians and high school/community college automotive programs and customers.  

Lifetime Achievement Award in Honor of Martin Fromm

E. Fletcher Lord, Jr., chairman, Replacement Parts Inc.

AWDA’s Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have, over the course of many years, distinguished themselves through their unselfish commitment to, and high level of performance within, the motor vehicle aftermarket industry. The award is named in honor of former AWDA President, Martin Fromm.

Crow-Burlingame Co. was founded in 1919 by his maternal grandfather, William Robert Crow. After graduating from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, Lord began a lifetime career at the company.  Fletcher is currently chairman of Replacement Parts Inc., the holding company of Crow-Burlingame Co. and Parts Warehouse Inc. 

During the course of his distinguished industry career, Fletcher Lord Jr. has served as chairman of the board for the Distributors Institute, the Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance, the ACDelco Dedicated Distribution Group Steering Committee and the Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association.

You May Also Like

MEMA Aftermarket Tech Conference Boosts Support for AACF

The “Toonie Game” raised funds for the Automotive Aftermarket Charitable Foundation.

MEMA Aftermarket Suppliers wrapped up the recent Aftermarket Technology Conference with a fun contest to raise funds in support of the Automotive Aftermarket Charitable Foundation (AACF).

Terence O’Reilly and Jeffrey Marshall of Pricedex Software, the conference’s premier sponsor, once again led closing banquet attendees in the “Toonie Game.” O’Reilly and Marshall each flipped Canadian two-dollar pieces, or “Toonies,” as they are informally referenced in Canada.

Auto Care Data Standards Gain Momentum in Columbia

Mercado Libre and Imotriz announced their adoption of the association’s data standards for their Colombian marketplaces.

Auto Care Association Recognizes Industry Leaders

The association presented the Impact Awards, ACE Awards and the Mort Schwartz Excellence in Education award.

AWDA Accepting Nominations for 2023 Industry Awards

Over the years, the list of AWDA award recipients has evolved into a who’s-who of aftermarket luminaries.

Auto Care Adds Jennifer Keaton to Lead Government Affairs

Keaton’s role is critical in ensuring the management of state legislation and regulations impacting the auto care industry.

Other Posts

Auto Care Association Leaders Visit Northwood University

Auto Care President and CEO Bill Hanvey was the guest lecturer for several Northwood automotive aftermarket courses at its Midland campus.

Bill Hanvey Auto Care Northwood
Trend Hunter’s Chief Futurist to Keynote Auto Care Connect

Auto Care Connect is scheduled for May 5-8 at the Hyatt Regency Chicago.

Armida Ascano
ACPN Announces 2024 Scholarship Winner

Omer Zanoor of Canadian Tire Corp. is the 2024 ACPN Scholarship winner.

Young Automotive Network Group Launches Annual Sponsorship Program

The program has been updated to a year-round opportunity.

Young Auto Care Network Group