Bill Maggs Joins Parts Authority Executive Team

Bill Maggs Joins Parts Authority Executive Team

Randy Buller, president and CEO of Parts Authority, announced that industry veteran Bill Maggs has accepted the position of executive vice president, supply chain, effective Nov. 1.

Bill Maggs

Randy Buller, president and CEO of Parts Authority, announced that industry veteran Bill Maggs has accepted the position of executive vice president, supply chain, effective Nov. 1.

“We are excited to have someone of Bill Magg’s stature and experience join the Parts Authority team,” said Buller. “I have worked with Bill for 25 years through our Pronto relationship and I have never seen anyone with his skill set, work ethic and passion for the business. When Bill said he was looking for a change, we immediately recognized the tremendous industry experience and accomplishments he would bring to this assignment. We expect his addition to our team to enhance our strong relationship with Pronto and look forward to further leveraging the benefits provided by The Group.” 

“I am looking forward to starting a new chapter in my automotive career,” said Maggs. “Parts Authority is a dynamic organization with a team of professionals dedicated to success. With more than 200 locations in 14 states, this position will be both demanding and challenging. It will also be a refreshing change to return to the distribution side of the business while still having the chance to closely work with Pronto for many years to come.”

Maggs began his aftermarket career at Menco Corporation in Springfield, Illinois where he held a variety of roles of increasing responsibility, including store manager, warehouse operations manager, sales manager, general manager and president. From there, he joined National Pronto Association, a leading member-owned program distribution group, where he recently celebrated 40 years of service and has held the position of president and CEO for the past 20 years. During his tenure at Pronto, Maggs also served on the board of directors of the Automotive Parts Services Group (The Group) and 1Parts, separate joint ventures with National Pronto, holding the positions of co-CEO and co-chairman, respectively.

Maggs has been an active industry advocate throughout his career, including serving as chairman of the Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA) and as a member of the Auto Care Association board of directors and the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF) board of trustees. He has earned his Master Automotive Aftermarket Professional (MAAP) designation and received many prestigious industry honors, including the Northwood University Automotive Aftermarket Education Award, the Federated Art Fisher Memorial Award and the Jack Creamer Leader of the Year Award. Maggs currently serves on the AWDA board of governors, as treasurer of the University of the Aftermarket Foundation and is involved in many other industry initiatives.

“I have had a wonderful career at Pronto and am very proud of the success we have achieved in a very competitive business,” continued Maggs. “Pronto has a talented staff of professionals, a tremendous board and wonderful members. I am confident my successor Robert Roos will do an outstanding job for the Pronto membership. He has worked closely with me over the past five years and I know he will build upon the success of the past to ensure a bright future for National Pronto.”

You May Also Like

Northwood U Celebrates Life of Former President David Fry

Fry, who served as Northwood’s CEO from 1982 to 2006, passed away Tuesday, Dec. 19. 

David Fry Northwood

Photo caption: From left, Claudia and Dr. David Fry (standing) are pictured as Dr. Fry receives the Wings of Freedom Award in 2022 in Bay Harbor, Michigan.

Northwood University announced the passing of former President David E. Fry, “a visionary leader, esteemed educator and beloved patriarch in the Northwood University family.”

Outgoing ASE President/CEO Tom Zilke Thanks Industry for Support

Zilke and Dave Johnson, his successor, penned open letters to the industry.

First Call: 2023 Counter Pro of the Year Randy Shambro

O’Reilly’s Shambro, the 2023 Counter Pro of the Year sponsored by WIX Filters, has found his calling.

Randy Shambro
Alliance CVHD Elects Chairman of Steering Committee

Bryan Miller will begin serving as chairman effective Jan. 1.

Niterra Appoints Burchi to GM of Aftermarket and OE Product

Burchi will step into the role vacated by Mark Boyle, who was promoted to PAMA regional general manager of product.  

Other Posts

Tri-State Hires David Prater as EVP Corporate Development

Prater will lead Tri-State’s acquisition efforts as it looks to expand into new markets.

Army Veteran Patrick Smith Joins KYB Aftermarket Team

As business operations manager, Smith will oversee sales and distribution-center administrative functions.

AutoZone Announces Leadership Changes

Longtime President and CEO Bill Rhodes will step down in January, among other leadership changes.

MEYLE Announces Management Changes

As of Sept. 1, board members Dirk Damaschke and Marc Siemssen are now managing the company.