Fifteen Finalists Selected In Champion Spark Plug Brand's $125,000 'Search for A Champion' Contest

Fifteen Finalists Selected In Champion Spark Plug Brand’s $125,000 ‘Search for A Champion’ Contest

Each finalist will receive a $5,000 Champion sponsorship for the 2014 racing season and advance to the $50,000 grand-prize round of voting, which begins Friday, Feb. 21 at


SOUTHFIELD, Mich. – A field of nearly 400 talented grassroots racers has been pared down to 15 finalists in the Champion Spark Plug brand’s $125,000 “Search for a Champion” racing sponsorship contest. Each finalist will receive a $5,000 Champion sponsorship for the 2014 racing season and advance to the $50,000 grand-prize round of voting, which begins Friday, Feb. 21 at

searchChThe annual Search for a Champion contest enables grassroots racers to battle for $125,000 in sponsorship packages by creating videos that demonstrate their commitment to winning a racing championship in virtually any form of engine-driven competition. This year’s contest attracted a record 391 participants, and first-round votes rose by more than 150 percent to more than 208,000.

“Search for a Champion gets bigger and more competitive every year,” said Jessica Wynn, global digital marketing manager for Champion Spark Plug manufacturer Federal-Mogul Corp. “The quality of our video entries has never been better, and each of our 15 finalists will be an excellent representative of ‘Performance Driven’ Champion technology throughout 2014.”

This year’s Search for a Champion finalists are:
(Name, Location, Vehicle, Class/Type)

·      Amber Balcaen, Winnipeg, Man., Canada, Sprint Car
·      Daniel Burkett, Winnipeg, Man., Canada, USF2000
·      Trevor Collver, Lucan, Ont., Canada, Late Model Truck
·      Teri Cummings, Sequim, Wash., Sprint Boat
·      Jeff Curl, Forest, Ill., Dirt Late Model
·      Daniel Daughenbaugh, Avondale, Pa., Vintage Bike
·      Jordan Ives, Gladstone, Mich., Super Late Model
·      Nick Lascuola, Abington, Mass., Late Model
·      Haley Moody, Kinston, N.C., Limited Late Model
·      Gauge Rees, Roy, Utah, Superbike
·      Alex Rogeo, Santa Clarita, Calif., Drag
·      Bradley Sterrett, Bloomington, Ind., Non-Wing Sprint Car
·      Tina Stull, Boerne, Texas, Rail Dragster
·      Marco Tellez, Orlando, Fla., Drift
·      Caley Weese, Carrying Place, Ont., Canada, Dirt Late Model

Final-round voting will take place Feb. 21 through March 23, and the Search for a Champion $50,000 grand-prize winner will be announced Monday, March 31, at 9 a.m. E.T. To review the 15 finalist videos and cast your free vote, simply visit

In addition to the 15 finalists, Federal-Mogul has selected 12 contest participants who will receive $500 Search for a Champion Honorable Mention awards:
(Name, Location, Vehicle, Class/Type)

·      James and Josh Rice, Verona, Ky., Dirt Late Model/Dirt Modified
·      Cole Glasson, Corinth, Texas, Dirt
·      Joey Prusak, Minnetonka, Minn., Late Model
·      Brittney Olsen, Aberdeen, S.D., Vintage Motorcycle
·      Kodie Conner, Kannapolis, N.C., Late Model
·      Alex Cognac, Marvin, N.C., Sprint Car
·      Monty Mandros, Magna, Utah, Super Late Model
·      Kevin Belanger, Washington, N.H., Go Kart
·      Cole Peschang, South Beloit, Ill., Go Kart
·      Jackson Lee, Avon, Ind., Quarter Midget
·      Bob Bauer, Niagara Falls, Ont., Canada, Dirt
·      Jason Alder, Cooksville, Md., Go Kart

To learn more about Search for a Champion “Performance Driven” Champion products,

You May Also Like

AACF Launches 65th Anniversary Fundraising Initiative

The campaign aims to raise $65,000 through 1,000 donations of $65 each.

The Automotive Aftermarket Charitable Foundation (AACF) announced the launch of its 65th-anniversary fundraising initiative. Running through July 1, 2024, the campaign aims to raise $65,000 through 1,000 donations of $65 each. This impactful effort highlights the industry's commitment to taking care of its own, the AACF said. 

From sudden illness and death to natural disasters, the foundation has provided assistance to industry professionals and their families during their darkest hours. As AACF celebrates its 65th year of service, it remains steadfast in its mission to provide financial support and resources to those in the automotive aftermarket industry in need, the organization said.

Schaeffler Publishes 2023 Sustainability Report 

Schaeffler was awarded an “A” score in the climate change category for 2023 by the global non-profit environmental organization CDP for corporate transparency and performance.

Schaeffler Sustainability Report
Introducing ‘Sustainability by Schaeffler’ on

In the weeks and months ahead, stay tuned for more sustainability content from Schaeffler and Counterman.

Schaeffler Sustainability
Jacki Lutz Named Content Director at Auto Care Association

Lutz will be tasked with leading a cross-functional and multimedia content strategy, development and execution across all platforms.

Jacki Lutz Auto Care
Auto Care Association Certified as a Great Place to Work

“This prestigious award is a testament to the association’s commitment to creating an inclusive, supportive and dynamic work environment for its employees,” Auto Care said.

Other Posts

HD Repair Shops Report Increases in Counter Sales, Labor Rates

The data comes from a Fullbay report published in partnership with ATA’s Technology and Maintenance Council.

Heavy Duty Repair
Applications Open for Federated Car Care Scholarships

Interested students should complete and submit their applications at by March 31.

BendPak Names Expert Automotive Primary Distributor in Las Vegas Valley

Under the agreement, Expert Automotive Equipment will offer and support equipment sold under the BendPak, Ranger, Cool Boss and Autostacker brands.

Expert Automotive
Auto Care Association Leaders Visit Northwood University

Auto Care President and CEO Bill Hanvey was the guest lecturer for several Northwood automotive aftermarket courses at its Midland campus.

Bill Hanvey Auto Care Northwood