Five Students Awarded Scholarships From The Larry W. McCurdy Memorial Scholarship Fund

Five Students Awarded Scholarships From The Larry W. McCurdy Memorial Scholarship Fund

The fund was established by Affinia Group Inc. within the University of the Aftermarket Foundation.

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – Five students have been selected as recipients of scholarships from the Larry W. McCurdy Memorial Scholarship Fund, established by Affinia Group Inc. within the University of the Aftermarket Foundation to honor McCurdy, chairman of the board of Affinia Group Inc., who passed away August 2010.

The Larry W. McCurdy Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded five $1,500 scholarships to students in four-year programs preparing for aftermarket careers in engineering, business, accounting or other professional positions. The recipients for the 2016-2017 academic year are:

  • Ellen Donabedian, Troy, MI, attending Michigan State University, Supply Chain Management and Spanish
  • Ryan Hack, Sedalia, CO, attending Colorado State University, Mechanical Engineering
  • Zachary Jones, Sheridan, AR, attending University of Arkansas at Little Rock, Marketing
  • Alyson Lippincott, San Antonio, TX, attending Texas A&M University, Business-Accounting
  • Ben Segal, Bow, NH, studying Business/Mathematics

Automotive Scholarship Central collaborates with these state associations and other automotive groups to award scholarships:

  • Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)
  • Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT)
  • Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)
  • Automotive Parts and Service Association of Illinois (APSA of Illinois)
  • Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota Inc.
  • Automotive Service Council Education Fund (California) (ASCEF)
  • California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers’ Association (CAWA)
  • Car Care Council Women’s Board (WB)
  • Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium Inc. (GAAS)
  • Kentucky/Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association
  • Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)
  • Midwest Automotive Parts and Service Association (MAPSA)
  • North American Council of Automotive Teachers (NACAT) Education Foundation
  • New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)
  • Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)
  • Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
  • Auto Care Association Telematics Challenge
  • Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association/Overseas Automotive Council
  • Bosch
  • Breslow Foundation
  • Dayco
  • Art Fisher Memorial Fund
  • Gates Corporation
  • Marilyn Schwartz Memorial Fund
  • Michael Busch Memorial Fund
  • Mitchell 1
  • Multi Parts
  • National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
  • George Segal Memorial
  • Standard Motor Products
  • Stant Corporation
  • University of the Aftermarket Foundation Scholarship Fund (UAF)
  • Women’s Board of the Auto Care Association

Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions provided by individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the UAF Scholarship Fund, University of the Aftermarket Foundation, c/o Julie Brehm, Auto Care Association, 7101 Wisconsin Ave., Suite 1300, Bethesda, MD 20814, 240-333-1046. Please designate any contribution to be restricted for scholarships. UAF is a 501c (3) organization.

You May Also Like

GPC Acquires Largest US NAPA Independent Store Owner

MPEC, founded in 1938 and based in Rockford, Illinois, has 181 locations across the Midwest.

Genuine Parts Company (GPC), global distributor of automotive and industrial replacement parts, announced it acquired Motor Parts & Equipment Corporation (MPEC), effective April 30, 2024, for its U.S. Automotive business.

MPEC, founded in 1938 and based in Rockford, Illinois, is the largest independent owner of NAPA Auto Parts stores in the U.S., operating 181 locations across Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin, according to GPC.

Schaeffler Group USA Expands Product Portfolio

Seventy new parts have been added to the INA, LuK and Schaeffler Bearings portfolios in the first quarter of 2024.

ACC Provides Sneak Peek into Conference Speakers

Industry leaders will share their knowledge on trends, strategies and innovations in automotive communications.

Registration for AAPEX 2024 Now Open

AAPEX 2024 will combine demos and training; business education sessions; and in-person networking.

HDA Truck Pride Raises $35,000 for Kids Matter International

Organization provides essential resources and educational opportunities to children in Grapevine, TX.

Other Posts

Genuine Parts Company Announces CEO Leadership Transition

Paul D. Donahue will become executive chairman, while William P. Stengel, II will succeed Donahue as president and CEO.

2024 to be a ‘Year Of Action’ for ASE, Says Chairman

New ASE Chairman Tom Trisdale says the challenges of repairing vehicles and the pressures facing technicians have never been greater.

The Impact of Trade and Tariffs on the Aftermarket

Numerous components make up “landed costs,” but duties, taxes and tariffs can often be a detriment to global trade.

BCA Bearings Unveils 2024 Endless Summer Promotion

The Endless Summer promotion runs from May 1 through June 30, 2024.