Marcos Ambrose Crew Chief Drew Blickensderfer Is MOOG 'Problem Solver Of The Race' At Bristol

Marcos Ambrose Crew Chief Drew Blickensderfer Is MOOG ‘Problem Solver Of The Race’ At Bristol

At the end of the season, Federal-Mogul presents the $100,000 MOOG "Problem Solver of the Year" Award to the crew chief with the most weekly Problem Solver wins.

SOUTHFIELD, Mich. – Drew Blickensderfer, crew chief for Marcos Ambrose and the Stanley-sponsored No. 9 Ford Fusion, was named Federal-Mogul’s MOOG Steering and Suspension “Problem Solver of the Race” following the team’s eighth-place finish in Saturday’s Irwin Tools Night Race at Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway. He is the 17th different crew chief in 24 races to win the weekly MOOG award.

The MOOG Problem Solver of the Race award is presented to the crew chief whose car posts the greatest improvement in average lap speed over the second half of each Sprint Cup event while finishing on the lead lap. At the end of the season, Federal-Mogul presents the $100,000 MOOG “Problem Solver of the Year” Award to the crew chief with the most weekly Problem Solver wins. After starting 14th, Ambrose and Blickensderfer’s MOOG-equipped No. 9 Ford improved by a race-best 0.149-second per lap over the final 250 laps at Bristol.

The team battled tight handling throughout the first half of the race, with Blickensderfer calling for a series of wedge adjustments and other changes to help Ambrose stay within range of the top 20. With improved handling and smart pit strategy, the 9 car advanced to 13th by lap 365 and 11th by lap 400. Ambrose used a great restart to move into fifth position with just under 50 laps remaining and held on for the team’s second consecutive top 10 finish.

“Drew and the Petty Racing crew worked their tails off dialing in that chassis, but their hard work paid off with an another impressive finish as we near the cut-off for the Chase field,” said Federal-Mogul Motorsports Director Tim Nelson. “It’s fun to watch a professional like Drew work his magic on pit road. He faced a number of tough handling problems and it looked like he solved them all in time to give Marcos a decent shot at a top five."

With 12 races remaining in the 2013 season, there’s no still clear favorite in the battle for the prestigious MOOG Problem Solver of the Year Award. Joey Logano (No. 22 Ford) crew chief Todd Gordon and Matt Borland, crew chief for Ryan Newman (No. 39 Chevrolet), are tied for the lead with three weekly MOOG awards each, while three crew chiefs have two wins and 12 have one. “Anybody could get hot over the next several weeks to win this thing,” Nelson said.

MOOG Steering and Suspension is the preferred brand of professional technicians and NASCAR crew chiefs, and MOOG components are recognized as the automotive service industry’s “Problem Solver,” with innovative designs that improve on original parts by providing increased durability, improved performance and easier installation. Many of the same MOOG technologies utilized in Sprint Cup competition are featured in MOOG ball joints, tie rod ends and other components available for today’s passenger vehicles.
For more information regarding MOOG products, visit the brand’s technician-focused website or contact your MOOG supplier. Like MOOG on Facebook at To identify the right MOOG part for virtually any application, please use the convenient, free electronic catalog.

You May Also Like

O’Reilly Gives Nearly $660,000 to 34 Local Charities

Since 2017, the O’Reilly Charity Golf Classic tournaments have raised and distributed $3.4 million.

O’Reilly Automotive has expanded its charitable efforts since hosting its first small golf tournament in 1999.

Now, the company organizes two annual golf tournaments, supporting numerous charities in the Springfield, Missouri, area, where O’Reilly is headquartered.

On Nov. 16, O’Reilly Auto Parts distributed grants totaling more than $600,000 to 34 local nonprofit organizations.

UAF Honors Bob Egan with Educational Advocacy Award

This prestigious award recognizes an aftermarket leader for their dedication to the pursuit of excellence in education.

NTN Brands Receive 2023 Automotive Communications Award

NTN received the award for its BCA and Bower “Summer Cruisin’” promotions. 

Premium Guard Launches Three Redesigned Websites

Each website features a clean, intuitive user interface and a better navigation experience, Premium Guard said.

Advance to Spin Off Worldpac as Company Reports Operating Loss

Advance also will divest its Canadian business and announced a $150 million cost-reduction program.

Other Posts

Counterman on Holiday

Counterman will send its regularly scheduled Thursday e-newsletter on Friday, Nov. 24.

Dana Receives MEMA Aftermarket Suppliers DEI Award

The association presented the DEI Award to Dana at AAPEX in Las Vegas.

Roger McCollum to Serve as UAF Chairman

McCollum replaces outgoing chairman Bob Egan, who has transitioned to the role of chairman emeritus for the foundation.

Philips Work Light Earns Best New Tool for Repairs Award

The Philips Xperion 6000 UV Pillar work light received the award from the Import Vehicle Community at AAPEX in Las Vegas.