Matt Borland, Crew Chief For Ryan Newman And No. 39 Chevrolet, Wins MOOG 'Problem Solver of the Year' Award

Matt Borland, Crew Chief For Ryan Newman And No. 39 Chevrolet, Wins MOOG ‘Problem Solver of the Year’ Award

Borland secured the $100,000 year-end MOOG award on the basis of his Cup Series-leading five weekly MOOG “Problem Solver of the Race” wins.


SOUTHFIELD, Mich. — Matt Borland, crew chief for Ryan Newman and Stewart-Haas Racing’s No. 39 Quicken Loans Chevrolet SS, clinched the prestigious MOOG Steering and Suspension “Problem Solver of the Year” Award during Sunday’s season-ending Ford EcoBoost 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Homestead-Miami (Fla.) Speedway. Borland secured the $100,000 year-end MOOG award on the basis of his Cup Series-leading five weekly MOOG “Problem Solver of the Race” wins.

121060ScreenSho_00000070481Sponsored by global vehicle components manufacturer Federal-Mogul Corp., the MOOG Problem Solver awards recognize the vital in-race contributions of Sprint Cup crew chiefs. The Problem Solver of the Race award is presented following each Sprint Cup contest to the crew chief whose car posts the greatest second-half improvement in average lap time while finishing on the lead lap. The $100,000 year-end award is presented to the crew chief with the best overall performance throughout the season.  Three crew chiefs – Todd Gordon (No. 22 Ford), Gil Martin (No. 29 Chevrolet) and Paul Wolfe (No. 2 Ford) – tied for second in the final Problem Solver standings with four wins each.

“Matt demonstrated an impressive ability to anticipate changes in track conditions and continually enhance the performance of the 39 car,” said Michael Proud, director of marketing, North America, Federal-Mogul. “The MOOG Problem Solver awards are all about making the right adjustments at the right time to help move your car toward the front of the field. No one did that more effectively and consistently this year than Matt.”

Borland and the MOOG-equipped 39 Chevrolet SS captured MOOG Problem Solver of the Race honors at Fontana in March, at Darlington and Charlotte in May, at Richmond in September, and in last week’s AdvoCare 500 at Phoenix. Last week’s win broke a four-way deadlock at the top of the year-end standings. He will receive his $100,000 MOOG Problem Solver of the Year check and custom-crafted MOOG ball joint trophy during the NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Award Luncheon in Las Vegas in December.

Winner of weekly MOOG Problem Solver honors in Sunday’s race was Steve Letarte, crew chief for Dale Earnhardt Jr. and the MOOG-equipped No. 88 Budweiser Chevrolet. The 88 car delivered a race-best 0.385-second improvement in finishing third at Homestead. Letarte finished the year with three weekly MOOG awards.

MOOG Steering and Suspension components are the leading choice of automotive repair professionals and top crew chiefs and have helped drive an unprecedented 48 consecutive NASCAR Cup champions to victory.

For more information regarding the MOOG Problem Solver awards and MOOG products, visit the brand’s technician-focused website or contact your MOOG supplier. Like MOOG on Facebook at or follow @moogPS on Twitter. To identify the right MOOG part for virtually any application, please use the convenient electronic catalog.


You May Also Like

Kalitta Motorsports, Dayco Announce Partnership, Distributor Agreement

Dayco will have branding on J.R. Todd’s DHL GR Supra funny car, and Kalitta is the exclusive at-track distributor of Dayco 11-mm racing blower belts for nitro engines.

Dayco Kalitta

Dayco is the newest member of the Kalitta Motorsports family of corporate partners, and Kalitta Motorsports is the newest distributor of Dayco belts, the team recently announced.

The 2024 NHRA Mission Foods Drag Racing Series begins March 8-10 at the Amalie Oil NHRA Gatornationals in Gainesville, Florida.  

AutoPartSource/Momentum USA Receives O’Reilly’s Sales & Service Award

This is the second year in a row that O’Reilly has honored AutoPartSource/Momentum USA with the award.

Momentum USA OReilly
NPW Adds Automotive Installers Warehouse to its Network

AIW has been an NPW customer since 2013.

Auto-Wares Recognizes Six Companies with Supplier Awards

DRiV received the 2023 Supplier of the Year Award.

DRiV Auto Wares

Other Posts

O’Reilly Honors DMA with 2 Awards at Leadership Conference

DMA took home the Content and Omnichannel Award and the Marketing and Advertising Award.

DMA O'Reilly
VIPAR Heavy Duty Supplier Advisory Council Reviews Performance, Strategy

At its semi-annual meeting, the council discussed current and expected market conditions and opportunities.

VIPAR Heavy Duty
MANN+HUMMEL’s NA Aftermarket Brands Support Right to Repair

The Right-to-Repair movement has gained momentum in recent years.

MANN+HUMMEL Right to Repair
Valvoline Restore & Protect Ad Runs on Super Bowl Sunday

Valvoline featured its new full-synthetic motor oil in a 30-second commercial that aired during the pre-game coverage.

Restore and Protect