New AWDA Officers, At-Large Governors Take Office

New AWDA Officers, At-Large Governors Take Office

The new members joining the ranks of AWDA’s leadership will hold their positions for a two-year term, ending in 2022.

The Aftermarket Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA) board of governors announced its newest officers and governors following the conclusion of the 2020 AWDA Virtual Conference, which took place Nov. 16-19.

The new members joining the ranks of AWDA’s leadership will hold their positions for a two-year term, ending in 2022. As AWDA officers and governors, they will play an active role in providing policy advice and input to the Auto Care Association and the aftermarket industry at-large.

Effective following the close of the conference, the 2020-2022 AWDA leadership will include:

  • Chairman – Ryan Samuels, Samuels Inc., Vauxhall, New Jersey
  • Vice Chair – Ashlee Arnold, Arnold Oil Company, Austin, Texas
  • Secretary – Dan Hanson Jr., Hanson Distributing Co., Azusa, California
  • Treasurer – Tim Trudnowski, Automotive Jobbers Supply, Spokane, Washington

Samuels succeeds Mauro Cifelli, Vast-Auto Distribution, who successfully led AWDA through the previous two years and remains on the AWDA Council as immediate past chairman.

“These new officers join a long and distinguished line of great leaders that AWDA has produced,” said Larry Northup, executive director of AWDA. “As volunteer leaders, all have a long history of association involvement and of course were also deeply engaged in their business operations during this difficult year. They’ve shared the challenges faced by all AWDA members these past months.”

Joining the AWDA board as at-large governors are:

  • Alex Hortsch, Cost Less Auto Parts, Vancouver, Washington
  • Esperanza Izquierido, XL Parts Inc., Jersey Village, Texas
  • E. Fletcher Lord, III, Replacement Parts Inc., Little Rock, Arkansas
  • Trevor Martin, Vaca Valley Auto Parts, Fairfield, California
  • Kelly Peterson, ASAP Automotive Warehouse, Midvale, Utah

With the integration of the AWDA and HDDA communities, two additional governors have been added to the AWDA board:

  • Tina Hubbard, president and CEO, Heavy Duty America/Truck Pride
  • Jeff Paul, vice president, VIPAR Heavy Duty, Inc.

Joining the AWDA Board will be the new vice chairman of AWDA’s Manufacturers’ Advisory Council (MAC):

  • Colby Florea, Gates Corp., Denver

AWDA’s nominating committee insists that if asked, any incoming governor must be qualified to serve as board chair. The result of this long-standing policy is a consistent supply of high-quality board members who are interested, engaged and committed to traditional distribution, the auto care industry and the Auto Care Association.

“Without a doubt, AWDA’s tradition of excellence in leadership continues with this new group of officers and governors,” said Northup. “We look forward to working with all of them.” To learn more about the AWDA and its leadership visit or contact Northup at [email protected].

You May Also Like

Trade Associations Not Swayed by Data-Access Agreement

Auto Care CEO Bill Hanvey called the pact “a thinly veiled response by the automotive OEMs to HR 906: The REPAIR Act.”

Earlier this week, the Automotive Service Association, the Society of Collision Repair Specialists and the Alliance for Automotive Innovation sent a letter to Congress reaffirming their commitment to a 2014 national agreement on automotive Right to Repair.

In the letter, the organizations “commit that independent repair facilities shall have access to the same diagnostic and repair information that auto manufacturers make available to authorized dealer networks.”

July Is Right to Repair Awareness Month

The Auto Care association is sharing six ways that aftermarket professionals can take action.

MEMA Aftermarket Suppliers to Present DEI Awards at AAPEX

MEMA Aftermarket Suppliers will present two awards – an Individual Award and a Company Award – to the winners on Nov. 1.

MEMA Announces Steering Committee for Sustainability Center

Members of the steering committee will provide guidance and oversight for the center’s leadership.

Paul McCarthy Sees ‘Opportunity and Upside’ in ADAS

McCarthy is president and CEO of MEMA Aftermarket Suppliers.

Other Posts

AWDA Donates Scholarships to University of the Aftermarket

AWDA donated four scholarships for the university’s upcoming Leadership 2.0 program.

AWDA 2023 Conference Registration Now Open

Companies must register by Friday, Aug. 25, to participate in the AWDA one-on-one meetings.

Dayco Will Be Title Sponsor for AWDA Business Conference

The conference will take place Oct. 28-30 in Las Vegas.

Bill Hanvey: ‘A National Apprentice Program Is Long Overdue’

Hanvey is president and CEO of the Auto Care Association.