Connect with us


Two Students Awarded GAAS Scholarships In Honor Of Mort Schwartz And Dave Caracci

Each student will receive a $1,000 award for the 2012-2013 academic year.


RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – Two students have been selected as recipients of scholarships that honor Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) founder Mort Schwartz and former GAAS Chairman Dave Caracci.


Each student will receive a $1,000 award for the 2012-2013 academic year. The recipients are:

• Donovan Krehbiel, Pretty Prairie, Kan. – a senior at Kansas State University pursuing a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering

• Stephanie Mitschell, Battle Creek, Mich. – a first-year student at Lansing Community College pursuing heavy equipment repair certification

“The funding for these two scholarships was provided by IDQ Holdings, a Garland, Texas-based supplier of automotive air conditioning products, to honor two men who have given so much of their time and effort to create and sustain GAAS and the scholarship program. This contribution allows two young people to further their education and set them on the path of successful automotive aftermarket careers – the very thing Mort set out to accomplish as founder of GAAS and Dave sustained as GAAS chairman,” said Pete Kornafel, chairman of the GAAS Scholarship Selection Committee.


GAAS recently presented 102 scholarships in its initial round of awards for the 2012-2013 academic year. In its 17-year history, the fund has presented more than $1.5 million in awards to more than 1,500 students.

For more information on the GAAS scholarship program, visit

Click to comment


Sponsored Content

The Path to Increasing Throughput and Reducing Cycle Times Is Not A One Size Fits All Process.

Sponsored Content

Going the Extra Mile(s) with Iridium Spark Plugs

Counterman Magazine