2014 Is Record-Setting Year For Industry-Sponsored Scholarships

2014 Is Record-Setting Year For Industry-Sponsored Scholarships

In total, 295 awards were presented for the 2015 academic year.

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – The class of 2014 set a new record in the scholarships awarded through the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) scholarships, University of the Aftermarket (UAF) scholarships and collaborating organizations at automotivescholarships.com: 295 awards for a total of $320,050. The previous record set in 2013 was 250 awards for $264,050. This year’s recipients include 241 U.S. students and seven Canadian students.
“The academics of these recipients are outstanding,” said Pete Kornafel, chairman of the GAAS scholarship committee. “Of those recipients who reported high school grade point averages (GPAs), 81 percent had GPAs of 3.0 and 47 percent had GPAs of 3.5 or higher. Of those recipients who reported high school class rank, 72 percent were in top half of their class.” He also noted that 49 percent of the applicants are already enrolled in post-secondary programs, and 83 percent of those have GPAs of 3.0 or higher.
“Perhaps most important to the automotive aftermarket’s future, 83 percent of the U.S. recipients are training to become technicians,” Kornafel noted.
By completing a single application at the automotivescholarships.com website, students can be considered for multiple scholarships. A total of 34 of the 2014 scholarship recipients received two awards, and five recipients received three awards.
“One outstanding applicant received a total of four awards and also achieved a first in the history of this scholarship program: the first-ever ‘father and son’ scholarship winners,” Kornafel said. Matthew Bisbee, a U.S. Army veteran, is the four-award winner. He is currently enrolled in the collision training program at Lake Superior College, Duluth, Minn. Bisbee’s son, Courtney, also a scholarship winner, is enrolled in the automotive service technology program at Lake Superior College.
Sara Mohon, another multiple scholarship winner, received the largest total awards at $8,000, which includes a $5,000 award from the Car Care Council Women’s Board. She is a Ph.D. candidate in automotive engineering at Clemson University.
“We are accepting applications for the 2015 awards now at www.automotivescholarships.com,” Kornafel said. “I urge all industry professionals to promote this one-stop site for students planning to pursue aftermarket careers. Scholarships are available for two-year technical college programs and vocational schools and four-year college programs.”

You May Also Like

UAF Honors Bob Egan with Educational Advocacy Award

This prestigious award recognizes an aftermarket leader for their dedication to the pursuit of excellence in education.

The University of the Aftermarket Foundation (UAF) has presented Bob Egan with the UAF Educational Advocacy Award.

This prestigious award recognizes an aftermarket leader for their dedication to the pursuit of excellence in education.

Egan served as chairman of the University of the Aftermarket Foundation since 2017 and recently transitioned to the role of chairman emeritus. During his tenure, UAF saw record growth in the funding of scholarships and educational programs that pave the way for students to pursue and excel in careers in the aftermarket.

NTN Brands Receive 2023 Automotive Communications Award

NTN received the award for its BCA and Bower “Summer Cruisin’” promotions. 

Premium Guard Launches Three Redesigned Websites

Each website features a clean, intuitive user interface and a better navigation experience, Premium Guard said.

Advance to Spin Off Worldpac as Company Reports Operating Loss

Advance also will divest its Canadian business and announced a $150 million cost-reduction program.

Counterman on Holiday

Counterman will send its regularly scheduled Thursday e-newsletter on Friday, Nov. 24.

Other Posts

Dana Receives MEMA Aftermarket Suppliers DEI Award

The association presented the DEI Award to Dana at AAPEX in Las Vegas.

Roger McCollum to Serve as UAF Chairman

McCollum replaces outgoing chairman Bob Egan, who has transitioned to the role of chairman emeritus for the foundation.

Philips Work Light Earns Best New Tool for Repairs Award

The Philips Xperion 6000 UV Pillar work light received the award from the Import Vehicle Community at AAPEX in Las Vegas.

Right to Repair Triumphs in Maine Referendum

At press time, more than 80% of Maine voters had answered “yes” to Ballot Question 4.