CAWA Announces 2014-'15 Scholarship Winners

CAWA Announces 2014-’15 Scholarship Winners

CAWA provided $10,000 in scholarships this year to 11 individuals.

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – CAWA, representing the automotive parts industry, has announced the recipients of its 2014-’15 scholarship awards. CAWA provided $10,000 in scholarships this year to 11 individuals.
“Once again, CAWA is proud to assist these young people in pursuing their careers in the automotive aftermarket," said Rodney Pierini, CAWA president and CEO, in announcing the awards. “We have awardees from the three states we represent."
Recipients of the scholarships include:
•$1,500 – Ashley Strunk, The Mort Schwartz Award – Universal Technical Institute
•$1,000 – Christian Luna – Chabot College
•$1,000 – Emily Lowdermilk – De Anza College
•$1,000 – Kein Thay – Pasadena City College
•$1,000 – Stephanie Yim – Chabot College
•$750 – Jacob Calvillo – Weber State University
•$750 – Jesse Phillips – Skyline College
•$750 – Jonas Banuelos – Rio Hondo College
•$750 – Matthew Walsh – Gateway Community College
•$750 – Sandra Albarran Santos – Gateway Community College
•$750 – Tonantzin Nordwall – Universal Technical Institute
The primary scholarship fundraising effort by CAWA is its annual dinner meeting held the Sunday night before the AAPEX and SEMA shows. This year, it will be held Nov. 2 at the Paris Hotel in Las Vegas. Scholarship funding also comes, in part, from a grant provided by the University of the Aftermarket Foundation.
To contribute to the association’s scholarship fund, contact Rodney Pierini at 800-332-2292 or [email protected].

You May Also Like

Less Is More With Cordless Work Lights

There are huge safety and efficiency benefits of LED lights for your professional automotive service and repair customers.

In the case of cordless lights, there is a lot more, starting with more light! The light comes from Light Emitting Diode, or LED, technology. When they were first invented, LEDs were a revolutionary development of electrical science, affecting virtually every aspect of our lives.

Now LED lights are everywhere, and we’re all familiar with them, even in our homes, but the automotive industry has reaped the benefits as much as, if not more than, any other industry. Just like a diode, LEDs allow current flow in only one direction. When current, or electron flow occurs, photons are released.

Crow-Burlingame Names Richard Webster VP of Company Stores

Advancement shows company’s commitment to fostering internal talent and promoting professional growth.

MEMA Aftermarket Suppliers’ BMC to Host Summer Meeting

The Brake Manufacturers Council meeting will be held on May 31, in Naples, Florida.

AACF Announces Inaugural AACF Humanitarian Award

Sponsored by NEXUS North America, award nominations will be accepted until Feb. 1, 2025.

Advance Auto Parts, Worldpac Wrap Up STX 2024

Nearly 3,400 registrants attended STX in Nashville’s Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center.

Other Posts

HDA Truck Pride Recaps 2024 Annual Meeting

The HDA Truck Pride community celebrated a successful year, adding more than 130 new North American locations.

GPC Acquires Largest US NAPA Independent Store Owner

MPEC, founded in 1938 and based in Rockford, Illinois, has 181 locations across the Midwest.

Schaeffler Group USA Expands Product Portfolio

Seventy new parts have been added to the INA, LuK and Schaeffler Bearings portfolios in the first quarter of 2024.

ACC Provides Sneak Peek into Conference Speakers

Industry leaders will share their knowledge on trends, strategies and innovations in automotive communications.