Michael Cardone Jr. Named EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Michael Cardone Jr. Named EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Award recognizes leaders with a long-standing reputation for entrepreneurial excellence.

PHILADELPHIA – EY announced that Michael Cardone Jr., owner and chief strategy officer of CARDONE Industries, has received the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award for the Philadelphia region. The award recognizes outstanding entrepreneurs who demonstrate excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to their businesses and communities. Cardone was selected by an independent panel of judges, and the award was presented at a special gala event at the Pennsylvania Convention Center on June 12.
“It is with great pleasure that I accept this award on behalf of all those who have helped make CARDONE a champion of innovation,” said Cardone. “Growing this business from a single room to over 6,000 employees in several countries was no easy task, and I owe my sincere gratitude to the employees of CARDONE Industries for their tireless efforts to grow our business.”
Cardone co-founded CARDONE Industries with his late father, Michael Cardone Sr., in 1970. Today, this family business, spanning three generations, is the largest family owned remanufacturer of automotive parts in the world. Cardone has received numerous awards for his achievements over the years, including the Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association’s (AWDA) Automotive Leader of the Year Award in 2001 and Automotive Hall of Fame Young Leadership and Excellence award in 1982, among others.
Cardone is a graduate of Oral Roberts University, where he received his bachelor of science degree in business administration in 1970 and honorary doctor of laws in 1988. He is a frequent keynote speaker at industry and business events.
Now in its 28th year, the EY awards program has honored the inspirational leadership of such entrepreneurs as Howard Schultz of Starbucks Coffee Company, Pierre Omidyar of eBay Inc. and Mindy Grossman of HSN. Recent U.S. national winners include Reid Hoffman and Jeff Weiner of LinkedIn; Hamdi Ulukaya, founder of Chobani; and 2013 winner Hamid Moghadam, CEO and Chairman of Prologis.
Founded and produced by EY, the Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards are sponsored in the United States by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation and SAP America. In the Philadelphia region, sponsors include PNC Bank, Parente Beard, Solomon Edwards, Ballard Spahr LLP, Morgan Lewis, Pepper Hamilton, MFP Strategies, NSM Insurance Group, Murray Devine, Merrill Corp., the Philadelphia Business Journal and Simkiss.

You May Also Like

ASE Congratulates Inaugural President’s Club Honorees

The inaugural class will feature six of the most accomplished automotive service professionals in the industry.

The inaugural class of the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) President’s Club will feature six of the most accomplished automotive service professionals in the transportation industry.

“We want to congratulate the first class of the ASE President’s Club,” said Tim Zilke, ASE president. “These outstanding individuals have earned distinction by receiving ASE certifications in over 50 areas as well as having successful careers as service professionals. These six are the best of the best and we are honored to induct them into the ASE President’s Club.”

Arnold Motor Celebrates Fundraising, Key Channel Partners

The company recognized PPG Industries as Vendor of the Year, and celebrated its fundraising for Tori’s Angels.

UAF Awards Scholarships for 2023-2024 Academic Year

Those awarded with scholarships will be attending a two-year or four-year college or university or an accredited automotive vocational program.

Lateiner: Diversity, Inclusion Needed to Stem Tech Shortage

The auto-industry influencer spoke at the ASE Education Foundation Instructor Training Conference.

UAF Welcomes GB Remanufacturing as Lifetime Trustee

Michael Kitching, president and CEO of GB Remanufacturing, will serve as the company’s representative on the UAF board of trustees.

Other Posts

Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Announce Scholarship Winners

The recipients were selected from a competitive pool of student applicants from across North America.

Advance Shakes Up Executive Team, Launches Strategic Review

Former Home Depot exec Shane O’Kelly will take over as president and CEO effective Sept. 11.

Right to Repair: NHTSA Open to Short-Range Wireless Protocol

If the proposal sees the light of day, it would limit the scope of the Massachusetts data-access law.

AAM Group Names 2023 Scholarship Recipients

Each $1,000 scholarship is awarded for one year to a high school graduate in good scholastic standing.