MEMA Recognizes Retiring President and CEO Steve Handschuh with its Highest Honor

MEMA Recognizes Retiring President and CEO Steve Handschuh with its Highest Honor

Handschuh is retiring as MEMA’s top executive on Dec. 31.

The Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Association (MEMA) board of directors presented President and CEO Steve Handschuh with the association’s highest honor, the MEMA Triangle Award, at its Nov. 28 meeting in Southfield, Michigan.

Handschuh is retiring as MEMA’s top executive on Dec. 31.

“Steve’s leadership, his vision and his passion for our association and the industry truly exemplify the MEMA Triangle Award’s mission of honoring selfless contributions to the motor vehicle supplier industry,” said Daniel Sceli, chairman of the MEMA board of directors and CEO of Peterson American Corp. “While we will miss Steve’s guidance at MEMA, we are proud to add his name to the list of industry legends who have received the MEMA Triangle Award.”

Handschuh joined MEMA in 2006 as the president and chief operating officer of the Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA), MEMA’s light-vehicle aftermarket division, and was appointed president and chief executive officer of MEMA in October 2013. In that position, Handschuh led MEMA and its four divisions: AASA; the Heavy Duty Manufacturers Association (HDMA); MERA – The Association for Sustainable Manufacturing; and the Original Equipment Suppliers Association (OESA).

Much of Handschuh’s 40-year career was dedicated to the automotive aftermarket industry. He worked for Genuine Parts Co./NAPA Auto Parts for 18 years, including serving as NAPA president from 1998 to 2004. He also served as senior vice president, commercial, at AutoZone. Handschuh began his career as an outside salesman for Mighty Auto Parts, where he rose to vice president, sales and marketing.

MEMA and its division have been presenting the Triangle Award since 1974. It is awarded periodically to the person, persons or organization whom the membership of MEMA and its divisions choose to honor for their contributions to the supplier industry.

Past recipients of the MEMA Triangle award include Marc Fleischaker, chairman emeritus of Arent Fox; Michael Cardone Jr., director, owner and chief strategy officer, CARDONE Industries; Bob McKenna, retired president and CEO of MEMA; David O’Reilly of O’Reilly Automotive Inc.; the late Joseph M. Magliochetti of Dana Corp.; Tom Gallagher of Genuine Parts Co., Bill Long, president of AASA (then of DANA/Echlin); the late Frederick Mancheski of Echlin Inc.; John Riess (then of The Gates Rubber Co.); the late Larry McCurdy (then of Moog Automotive); and Jack Reilly (then of Tenneco Automotive).

You May Also Like

AACF Launches 65th Anniversary Fundraising Initiative

The campaign aims to raise $65,000 through 1,000 donations of $65 each.

The Automotive Aftermarket Charitable Foundation (AACF) announced the launch of its 65th-anniversary fundraising initiative. Running through July 1, 2024, the campaign aims to raise $65,000 through 1,000 donations of $65 each. This impactful effort highlights the industry's commitment to taking care of its own, the AACF said. 

From sudden illness and death to natural disasters, the foundation has provided assistance to industry professionals and their families during their darkest hours. As AACF celebrates its 65th year of service, it remains steadfast in its mission to provide financial support and resources to those in the automotive aftermarket industry in need, the organization said.

AutoPartSource/Momentum USA Receives O’Reilly’s Sales & Service Award

This is the second year in a row that O’Reilly has honored AutoPartSource/Momentum USA with the award.

Momentum USA OReilly
Auto-Wares Recognizes Six Companies with Supplier Awards

DRiV received the 2023 Supplier of the Year Award.

DRiV Auto Wares
O’Reilly Honors DMA with 2 Awards at Leadership Conference

DMA took home the Content and Omnichannel Award and the Marketing and Advertising Award.

DMA O'Reilly
Parts Authority Honors FCS as 2023 Supplier of the Year

The announcement was made during the recent 2023 Vendor Reception and Award Ceremony in Las Vegas.


Other Posts

Schaeffler Publishes 2023 Sustainability Report 

Schaeffler was awarded an “A” score in the climate change category for 2023 by the global non-profit environmental organization CDP for corporate transparency and performance.

Schaeffler Sustainability Report
Introducing ‘Sustainability by Schaeffler’ on

In the weeks and months ahead, stay tuned for more sustainability content from Schaeffler and Counterman.

Schaeffler Sustainability
Jacki Lutz Named Content Director at Auto Care Association

Lutz will be tasked with leading a cross-functional and multimedia content strategy, development and execution across all platforms.

Jacki Lutz Auto Care
Auto Care Association Certified as a Great Place to Work

“This prestigious award is a testament to the association’s commitment to creating an inclusive, supportive and dynamic work environment for its employees,” Auto Care said.