Standard Motor Products Awards $50,000 Across Three Scholarship Programs

SMP Awards $50,000 Across Three Scholarship Programs

Ten exemplary students were selected from nearly 1,000 candidates.

Standard Motor Products (SMP) has announced the recipients of its 2021 Scholarship Program.

Through three individual scholarship programs – the Intermotor “Import Leader,” Blue Streak “Better Then, Better Now” and SMP “Women in Auto Care” Scholarship – 10 students pursuing educations in automotive technology or repair have been awarded scholarships to apply toward their education in automotive technology or repair at a technical school or college. 

From nearly 1,000 candidates, these 10 exemplary students were selected based on the thoughtfulness and relevancy of their responses to questions regarding their future careers in the automotive repair industry. Each has been awarded a $5,000 scholarship. 

Intermotor Import Leader Scholarship

With an emphasis on import automotive technology, the Intermotor Import Leader Scholarship awarded $5,000 each to Ashley Stamboulian of Robbinsville, New Jersey; Saige Byram of Evansville, Indiana; Alexzander Freeman of Lockhart, Texas; and Julien Vargas of Lehighton, Pennsylvania. 

Blue Streak Better Then, Better Now Scholarship

The Blue Streak Better Then, Better Now winners this year were Derrick Graham of Medford, Oregon;Vance Hagerman of Hanover, PennsylvaniaDeeandra Lucio of Phoenix;and Will Finney of Coeur d’Alene, Idaho.

SMP Women in Auto Care Scholarship

The SMP Women in Auto Care Scholarship, which encourages women to pursue careers as automotive technicians, awarded $5,000 scholarships each to Makena Gaylor of Eagle Point, Oregon; and Jennea Katic of Pompano Beach, Florida. 

“SMP is proud to support our future technicians,” said John Herc, SMP vice president of engine management marketing. “To be successful as a leader in the auto care industry, we believe it’s important to provide training for current technicians and offer opportunities such as the SMP scholarships, to the next generation of automotive technicians. I can say with confidence that the auto care industry is in good hands. Congratulations to the winners and a special thanks all students who participated.”  The competitions were open to legal residents of the 50 United States, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, 18 years of age or older, and currently enrolled full-time in high school or in an accredited two-or four-year college, university or post-high school educational program.

You May Also Like

NGK’s Franchelle Thomas Receives AASA DEI Award

Thomas, director of culture, communication & people for NGK, received the award on Nov. 2 at AAPEX in Las Vegas.

The Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA) recently recognized Franchelle Thomas of NGK Spark Plugs (USA) with the 2022 AASA Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Individual Award.

Thomas, director of culture, communication & people for NGK, received the award on Nov. 2 at AAPEX in Las Vegas.

“We are proud to announce the annual AASA Individual DEI award, with the purpose of recognizing an influential leader in the automotive aftermarket that supports and represents the core values of diversity, equity, & inclusion,” said Ben Brucato, vice president of engagement, AASA. “Franchelle embodies the spirit of this award, challenging our industry to be forward thinking and retaining and attracting talent from all backgrounds and walks of life. Her work and dedication to DE&I makes the industry stronger and more resilient. We applaud her efforts that affect real change.” 

Parts Authority Honors Top Vendor Partners, Reps For 2022

Highline Warren received the Supplier of the Year Award.

Purolator Receives 3 Automotive Communication Awards At AAPEX

The categories included Best Article/Blog/Content Piece-Technical; Best Video; and Best Merchandising.

BBB’s Kim Nolan Named Auto Care Woman Of The Year

In addition, Tanya Hunt, BBB’s commercial project manager, was named the Auto Care Champion of the Year.

AWDA Announces 2022 Industry Award Winners

AWDA recognized the award winners on Oct. 30 during the 2022 AWDA General Session in Las Vegas.

Other Posts

SMP Introduces 110 New Part Numbers in March

SMP is continuing to increase coverage for hybrid vehicles across multiple categories.

Standard Motor Products Expands Hybrid, EV Portfolio

Over the past year, SMP has added 258 SKUs for hybrid vehicles and 60 SKUs for electric vehicles.

A Simple Strategy to Reduce Fraudulent Returns [VIDEO]

Members of the Automotive Sales Council talk about the “Check the Part” campaign.

Performing VVT Service Properly

When servicing a VVT issue, take your time and follow these tips.