Connect with us


Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA) Announces 2012-2013 Scholarship Winners

Four $1,000 scholarships were awarded to students.


RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA) announces the recipients of its scholarships for the 2012-2013 academic year.


Four $1,000 scholarships were awarded to these students:

•Carlyn Hubbard of Onsted, Mich., a sophomore at the University of Arizona
•Cassidee Retzloff of Coleman, Mich., a freshman at Lake Superior State University.
•Justin Peak of Emmett, Mich., a freshman at the University of Northwestern Ohio; presented in conjunction with the University of the Aftermarket Foundation
•Chase Zebari of Canton, Mich., a sophomore at the University of Detroit Mercy

“Since the program began in 1991, MAPA has awarded $54,000 to 57 students,” said Debbie Cook, MAPA executive director. “MAPA is pleased to work with the GAAS scholarship committee and participate in the automotive scholarship Web site, an easy and convenient method for students to apply for scholarships from MAPA and other organizations with one application.”


In addition to MAPA, GAAS collaborates with these state associations and other automotive groups:

•Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN)
•Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)
•Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT)
•Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)
•Automotive Parts & Services Association (APSA)
•Automotive Parts and Service Association of Illinois (APSA of IL)
•California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers’ Association (CAWA)
•Kentucky / Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association (KIAWA)
•New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)
•Ohio Valley Automotive Aftermarket Association (OVAAA)
•Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)

The following foundations and organizations also collaborate with GAAS to award scholarships:

•Automotive Communication Council
•Breslow Foundation
•Gates Corp.
•Larry McCurdy Memorial Fund
•Leadership Development Network
•Michael Busch Memorial Fund
•Mitchell 1
•Multi Parts Supply
•Standard Motor Products
•Stant Corp.
•Women’s Car Care Council (WB)


Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions provided by individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the GAAS Scholarship Fund, c/o Susan Medick at AAIA, at 301-654-6664, or [email protected].

Click to comment


Sponsored Content

The Path to Increasing Throughput and Reducing Cycle Times Is Not A One Size Fits All Process.

Sponsored Content

A Closer Look: Variable Valve Timing

Sponsored Content

Going the Extra Mile(s) with Iridium Spark Plugs

Counterman Magazine