NPW Companies, SMP Receive AASA Channel Excellence Award

NPW Companies, SMP Receive AASA Channel Excellence Award

The award, presented by Epicor, honors suppliers and channel partners that collaborate to promote growth in the aftermarket.

The Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance is congratulating Auto Value and Bumper to Bumper shareholder owner NPW Companies and valued channel partner Standard Motor Products on winning the 2021 AASA Channel Excellence Award.

The award, presented by Epicor, honors suppliers and channel partners that collaborate to promote growth in the automotive aftermarket.

“We feel honored by this recognition,” said Chris Pacey, executive vice president and COO of NPW. “Thank you to AASA and Epicor for this award. Thank you to SMP for their great collaboration, and a huge thank you to the team at NPW Companies for all their efforts. Finally, thank you to the Alliance for their assistance in bringing this together. We are hopeful that this pandemic will end soon. We are doing everything we can to keep everyone healthy and safe, and we look forward to a bright future.”

The two companies were selected by a six-person committee of industry professionals as one of two sets of finalists. Together, they prepared a video submission detailing the collaborative efforts that led to their victory. The winning nomination, titled “The COVID Online Innovative Response Strategy,” described their successful deploy of an inventory-optimization initiative while simultaneously responding to the challenges posed by COVID-19 swiftly and effectively.

“I want to thank Chris Pacey and NPW for allowing us to work on this inventory project with them,” said Paul Farwick, vice president of sales at Standard Motor Products. “We feel that this is the essential service we can give to our distribution partners. Helping to reduce inventory, increase shelf space, increase sales and ROI.”

In order to be considered for the award, two channel partners must work together to meet several criteria. The project must be innovative and utilize technology, data analytics, robotics, artificial intelligence, machine learning, AR/VR, blockchain and or digital business processes. The companies also must be able to provide demonstrative results. NPW and SMP’s successes included a 22.2% increase in sales out at targeted NPW stores while only reporting an inventory dollar investment increase of 2.9%; 2,225 new SKUs added to inventory, and 33.4% of inventory overstock repurposed.

“NPW Companies and Standard Motor Products achieved some impressive results in this highly collaborative and innovative project,” said Dale Hopkins, vice president and CIO at the Alliance. “Congratulations to both companies on their teamwork and success.”

NPW Companies is the third Alliance shareholder owner to win the award, which is in its third year.

In 2020, Hahn Automotive and BBB Industries were awarded the honor for using subject-matter experts and multiple electronic tools together in a holistic approach to significantly enhance inventory models, increase deployment speed, increase sales and provide more value to the customer. In 2019, Parts Warehouse Inc. (PWI) and Tenneco were recognized for a collaborative inventory analysis and repositioning to grow PWI’s share of the strut assembly category, reduce lost sales and improve margin performance.

You May Also Like

NGK’s Franchelle Thomas Receives AASA DEI Award

Thomas, director of culture, communication & people for NGK, received the award on Nov. 2 at AAPEX in Las Vegas.

The Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA) recently recognized Franchelle Thomas of NGK Spark Plugs (USA) with the 2022 AASA Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Individual Award.

Thomas, director of culture, communication & people for NGK, received the award on Nov. 2 at AAPEX in Las Vegas.

“We are proud to announce the annual AASA Individual DEI award, with the purpose of recognizing an influential leader in the automotive aftermarket that supports and represents the core values of diversity, equity, & inclusion,” said Ben Brucato, vice president of engagement, AASA. “Franchelle embodies the spirit of this award, challenging our industry to be forward thinking and retaining and attracting talent from all backgrounds and walks of life. Her work and dedication to DE&I makes the industry stronger and more resilient. We applaud her efforts that affect real change.” 

Parts Authority Honors Top Vendor Partners, Reps For 2022

Highline Warren received the Supplier of the Year Award.

Purolator Receives 3 Automotive Communication Awards At AAPEX

The categories included Best Article/Blog/Content Piece-Technical; Best Video; and Best Merchandising.

BBB’s Kim Nolan Named Auto Care Woman Of The Year

In addition, Tanya Hunt, BBB’s commercial project manager, was named the Auto Care Champion of the Year.

AWDA Announces 2022 Industry Award Winners

AWDA recognized the award winners on Oct. 30 during the 2022 AWDA General Session in Las Vegas.

Other Posts

Justin Hebert to Lead Alliance CVHD Program

The Alliance has promoted Hebert to director of category management & commercial vehicle and heavy duty.

AutoZone Exec Philip Daniele to Keynote AASA Vision Conference

The conference is scheduled for April 11-12 in Chicago.

Alliance Honors BBB As 2022 Channel Partner Of The Year

This is the second consecutive year BBB has received the award.

Alliance, Federated Announce Strategic Collaboration

The collaboration continues the consolidation of efforts that began with the formation of The Group in 2014.