Connect with us


WIX Announces Top 25 Schools in 2012 School of the Year Competition

Of the 340 entrants nominated, 121 were from different high schools, technical schools and colleges.


GASTONIA, N.C. — WIX Filters and O’Reilly Auto Parts, partners with Tomorrow’s Technician as title sponsors for the “2012 School of the Year” competition at, have announced the Top 25 schools selected from nearly 340 entrants.


“We are proud to play a role in shaping future technicians as part of the ‘School of the Year’ competition,” said Mike Harvey, brand manager for WIX Filters, which also was an associate sponsor of last year’s competition. “We are committed to providing excellence in education for the next generation of technicians.”
2012 marks the fifth year of the national contest to find and name the best technician training school in the country. Due to the overwhelming response and increase in school entrants by 20 percent, the top 20 schools were expanded to a list of 25 this year.


Of the 340 entrants nominated, 121 were from different high schools, technical schools and colleges. Also new this year, instructors were able to post a video on the Tomorrow’s Technician YouTube channel ( highlighting their school’s automotive program.

“Babcox and Tomorrow’s Technician share O’Reilly Auto Parts’ and WIX Filters’ support to dedicated students vying to be the future leaders in this industry,” said Jeff Stankard, publisher of Tomorrow’s Technician, a Babcox Media publication for automotive students. “The ‘School of the Year’ competition has been a great success and we are thrilled with the increase of entrants this year. We look forward to more opportunities to reward students’ commitment to automotive excellence.”


The School of the Year program is open to all high schools or post-secondary schools that have a subscription to Tomorrow’s Technician. Judges will continue to review entry criteria and select the top school from each of the four regions in the U.S. – or the Final Four. The winner will be selected from the four finalists and announced in October.


The Top 25 schools are:

Region One
• Rio Hondo College, Whittier, Calif.
• Dallas County Community College District – Brookhaven, Farmers Branch, Texas
• Pima Community College, Tucson, Ariz.
• WyoTech, Long Beach, Calif.
• New Mexico Junior College, Hobbs, N.M.
• San Diego Continuing Education, San Diego, Calif.
• Southeast Community College, Milford, Neb.


Region Two    
• Marchman Technical School, New Port Richey, Fla.
• Chipola College, Mirianna, Fla.
• Providence Senior High School, Charlotte, N.C.
• Elizabethtown Community and Technical College, Elizabethtown, Ky.
• Cope Area Career Center, Cope, S.C.
• Midlands Technical College, Columbia, S.C.

Region Three
• Clover Park Technical College, Lakewood, Wash.
• Reynolds High School, Troutdale, Ore.
• Northwest Kansas Technical College, Goodland, Kan.
• Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, Ill.
• Grafton High School, Grafton, Wis.
• Iowa Western Community College, Council Bluffs, Iowa
• Salt Lake Community College, Sandy, Utah
• Sinclair Community College, Dayton, Ohio

Region Four
• Assabet Valley Regional Technical School, Marlborough, Mass.
• Charles H. Bohlen, Jr. Technical Center, Watertown, N.Y.
• Pennsylvania College of Technology, Williamsport, Pa.
• Berks Career and Technology Center, Leesport, Pa.
• A W Beattie Career Center, Allison Park, Pa.
• Lakes Region Community College, Laconia, N.H.

Click to comment


Sponsored Content

The Path to Increasing Throughput and Reducing Cycle Times Is Not A One Size Fits All Process.

Sponsored Content

A Closer Look: Variable Valve Timing

Sponsored Content

FRAM® Provides Next-Level Engine Protection for the Summer

Counterman Magazine