Clint Bowyer Crew Chief Billy Scott Wins Career-First MOOG 'Problem Solver' Award

Clint Bowyer Crew Chief Billy Scott Wins Career-First MOOG ‘Problem Solver’ Award

With his first-ever Problem Solver award, Scott becomes the 15th different crew chief to win the MOOG brand’s weekly honors this season.


SOUTHFIELD, Mich. – Billy Scott, crew chief for Clint Bowyer and the No. 15 Maxwell House Toyota Camry, won his career-first MOOG Steering and Suspension “Problem Solver of the Race” Award after Bowyer made a late charge to finish sixth in Sunday’s Cheez-It 355 NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International. It was Scott’s fifth race as crew chief for the Michael Waltrip Racing-owned team. MOOG is the Official Steering and Suspension of NASCAR.

Sponsored by global vehicle components manufacturer Federal-Mogul Motorparts, a division of Federal-Mogul Holdings Corp., the MOOG Problem Solver of the Race Award is presented following each Sprint Cup event to the crew chief whose car has posted the greatest second-half improvement in average lap time while finishing on the lead lap. Bowyer and the MOOG-equipped 15 car delivered a race-best 0.096-second differential on the 2.45-mile road course.

The 15 team, which started the race in 18th position, was looking to solidify its spot in the Chase for the Sprint Cup field. Consider that mission accomplished, with the team maintaining its 50-point cushion above the cutoff with just four races to go before the season-ending 10-race playoff.  The Toyota’s late charge – moving up from 19th place with 30 laps remaining – gave the team its ninth top-10 finish and much-needed breathing room heading into next week’s Pure Michigan 400 at Michigan International Speedway. The race was won by Joey Logano and the MOOG-equipped No. 22 Ford.

“Clint and Billy were working on their setup all day, but the 15 car really seemed to come alive after Billy’s last round of chassis adjustments,” said Tim Nelson, director of motorsports for Federal-Mogul Motorparts.

With his first-ever Problem Solver award, Scott becomes the 15th different crew chief to win the MOOG brand’s weekly honors this season. The battle for the prestigious and lucrative ($100,000) MOOG “Problem Solver of the Year” award remains largely unchanged, with rookie crew chief Justin Alexander (Paul Menard/No. 27 Chevrolet) in the lead with three weekly MOOG awards, followed by five crew chiefs with two wins apiece.

The MOOG brand, the preferred choice of professional technicians and NASCAR crew chiefs, is in its 50th year of Cup competition. In recognition of the vital importance of steering and suspension components in overall vehicle safety and performance, NASCAR mandates that Cup teams use MOOG Problem Solver parts, specifically ball joints and tie rod ends. Cup Series champions have chosen MOOG parts for 49 consecutive years.

To learn more about MOOG products, please contact your MOOG Steering and Suspension supplier or visit the technician-focused website. Like MOOG on Facebook at and follow the brand on Twitter for product updates and special promotions.

You May Also Like

AACF Launches 65th Anniversary Fundraising Initiative

The campaign aims to raise $65,000 through 1,000 donations of $65 each.

The Automotive Aftermarket Charitable Foundation (AACF) announced the launch of its 65th-anniversary fundraising initiative. Running through July 1, 2024, the campaign aims to raise $65,000 through 1,000 donations of $65 each. This impactful effort highlights the industry's commitment to taking care of its own, the AACF said. 

From sudden illness and death to natural disasters, the foundation has provided assistance to industry professionals and their families during their darkest hours. As AACF celebrates its 65th year of service, it remains steadfast in its mission to provide financial support and resources to those in the automotive aftermarket industry in need, the organization said.

AutoPartSource/Momentum USA Receives O’Reilly’s Sales & Service Award

This is the second year in a row that O’Reilly has honored AutoPartSource/Momentum USA with the award.

Momentum USA OReilly
Auto-Wares Recognizes Six Companies with Supplier Awards

DRiV received the 2023 Supplier of the Year Award.

DRiV Auto Wares
O’Reilly Honors DMA with 2 Awards at Leadership Conference

DMA took home the Content and Omnichannel Award and the Marketing and Advertising Award.

DMA O'Reilly
Parts Authority Honors FCS as 2023 Supplier of the Year

The announcement was made during the recent 2023 Vendor Reception and Award Ceremony in Las Vegas.


Other Posts

Schaeffler Publishes 2023 Sustainability Report 

Schaeffler was awarded an “A” score in the climate change category for 2023 by the global non-profit environmental organization CDP for corporate transparency and performance.

Schaeffler Sustainability Report
Introducing ‘Sustainability by Schaeffler’ on

In the weeks and months ahead, stay tuned for more sustainability content from Schaeffler and Counterman.

Schaeffler Sustainability
Jacki Lutz Named Content Director at Auto Care Association

Lutz will be tasked with leading a cross-functional and multimedia content strategy, development and execution across all platforms.

Jacki Lutz Auto Care
Auto Care Association Certified as a Great Place to Work

“This prestigious award is a testament to the association’s commitment to creating an inclusive, supportive and dynamic work environment for its employees,” Auto Care said.